You do the Hokey Pokey and you turn yourself around…

You put your right face  in, you put your bad face out… you put your right face  in, and you shake it all about.  You do the Hoke Pokey and you turn yourself around… That’s what it’s all about…

And that is just what it feels like in the on-line dating world (well, the “on-line” world according to Ann).  The HOKEY POKEY of the World Wide Web.  What a weird concept this is; to put yourself in a world where you are being viewed as if in a retail window (I think I’ll take that one please…).  With no concept of who is on the other side, whether or not they are married, smart, witty, funny (an axe murderer, serial killer…).  It’s a crap-shoot really.

Yet, people do it all the time.  We have become so accustomed to this World Wide Web.  This notion of Social Networking websites are somehow “safer”, as if to say that if we email, we will have less of a chance of getting our feelings hurt (or being hurt in general).  We have been raised to never speak with strangers and that when we meet people and make eye contact that that is to tell us something about them.  I mean, when you are able to make eye contact you can see into the soul of a person.  But the internet has somehow changed all those rules.  People can be whomever they “decide” to be on any given day or at any given moment (who’s to say?).

I mean they don’t even need to be legitimately who they claim to be in their profile.  Yet we take it at face value.  I don’t know; it’s all so unreal.  A person can really get paranoid if they think about it too long.  I guess many might say I’m crossing that line (hmm, perhaps I am…).  I’ve taken myself on and off; and on and off of this particular dating site for some time now.  I just can’t bring myself to make that connection.  It’s not that I don’t have the chances (there are plenty).  But, to make that next step, the email, followed by the meet and greet only to find the person is not exactly what you were hoping for and then someone must say… “Nice meeting you… But…”  Ugh!   It’s all just too exhausting!

Perhaps I’m not quite ready yet.  I know, I can hear what many are saying (shouting…); “you aren’t!!!! STOP TORTURING YOURSELF!”

So, here I go again… I’ll hide my profile away until next time I decide to do the “Hokey Pokey” and turn myself inside-out! (psha!)

Leave a Reply

