Spring Forward; now tell me why we do this to ourselves again?

squared circles - Clocks

Image by Leo Reynolds via Flickr

Every year is the dreaded ‘Daylight Savings’ time and all of my friends think I’m nuts.  But I honestly feel as if I’ve been robbed an hour of my day; well actually robbed an hour of my beauty sleep each and every night THROUGHOUT the spring and summer months.  I know, to many of you it’s just for the first weekend or maybe the first week on the outside.  But to this girl?  It’s two seasons of sleep deprivation!  This is cruel and unusual punishment, in my book.  Can’t this be stopped?  I mean do we really have to continue this practice?

So I went in search of answers and found the following, did you know that:

“American Benjamin Franklin first thought of shifting daylight, but Londoner William Willet pushed the idea in Great Britain. The idea of daylight saving was first conceived by Benjamin Franklin during his sojourn as an American delegate in Paris in 1784, in an essay, “An Economical Project.” Some of Franklin’s friends, inventors of a new kind of oil lamp, were so taken by the scheme that they continued corresponding with Franklin even after he returned to America.
The idea of shifting daylight was first advocated seriously by London builder William Willett – 1857-1915 – in the pamphlet, “Waste of Daylight” 1907, that proposed advancing clocks 20 minutes on each of four Sundays in April, and retarding them by the same amount on four Sundays in September. As he was taking an early morning a ride through Petts Wood, near Croydon, Willett was struck by the fact that the blinds of nearby houses were closed, even though the sun was fully risen. When questioned as to why he didn’t simply get up an hour earlier, Willett replied with typical British humor, “What?” In his pamphlet “The Waste of Daylight” he wrote “Everyone appreciates the long, light evenings. Everyone laments their shortage as Autumn approaches; and everyone has given utterance to regret that the clear, bright light of an early morning during Spring and Summer months is so seldom seen or used.”  [Read more: http://wiki.answers.com/Q/When_did_Daylight_Saving_Time_begin#ixzz1GRlGgQX4 ]

Ok, so, according to some sources we save about 1% on energy on average; all the while I gain about 30% of my wrinkles as a result of the lack of sleep.  Now, to help me get through this trying time, I try to make this an ‘event’ and more of a time to welcome in Spring.  Then there are the practical things like; I drink lots of water, try not to drink alcohol and manage to eat right, oh, and go to bed at a reasonable hour (well, try to… I am newly single after all).

But, really?  Must we ‘change’ the clocks?  We are in the 21st Century, can’t we just rework our schedules or something?  Anything, I mean, even my little dog would totally hated this (she’s no longer with us…), but if she were, ‘woof, woof woooo!”  would be her argument (you tell ’em girl!).  Poor little thing, we 6:00 pm would be her dinner time, a time that she would wait for patiently.  She was not a dog that whined or fussed, but even she knew when the time was ‘supposed’ to be.  (yea, you tell ’em girl!).

I know I’m being silly (and trust me when I say I could really use a bit of silliness after the week I had).  There are two states that have chosen not to follow Daylight Savings Time, Arizona and Hawaii.  So, it can be done.  I’m just saying, generations long before Ben Franklin were living with time as usual, why can’t we?

All in all, though, I am going to enjoy the longer days and having the ‘daylight’ later.  So, as I close I say so long to my handsome little Hour, parting is such sweet sorrow.  But don’t cry for it won’t be long until we are reunited in the Fall.  And when that happens Baby, it’ll be with a bang!

Leave a Reply

