Dancing Queen!

You Should Be Dancing

Image via Wikipedia

Sometime there is just no other way to do it… you just gotta grin and bear it and have a ‘date’ with yourself.  I was home alone last Saturday and realized that I hadn’t been out in, oh, almost a year (probably over a year now that I think of it).  So, Saturday it all started with my meeting a client in the morning for an appointment.  Then I was on to shopping and possibly a movie.

Well, I got sidetracked by this day spa.  Ooo… wow, massage!  “Hadn’t had one of those in a while.” (short term memory loss…  movie? what?).  So, I did it.  I booked myself an appointment but they couldn’t take me for another two and a half hours.  So, I took a stroll down to a bistro, had lunch, then onto the Hallmark store for some wrapping to wrap up those books I purchased.  Made it back for my appointment.  Ahhh!  What a wonder!  I feel like a million bucks!

I stopped off at my girlfriends house to drop off ‘book#1’ and then back home.  And there I was.  God; I was antsy!  I just HAD to kick up my heels!  But who, oh who was I going to do it with?  My bff was out of town and there simply was nobody else at this short notice (it’s hell to be old.  Who’s old?  Oh, me!)  So, I thought about it, I looked up the hotel that was down the street from the club that I’ve frequented in the past (with my bff) and I booked a room and said to myself, ‘I’ll taxi it.’  And ‘Taxi it’ I did!

I got out my brand new, low cut, cut little blue dress, high gold heels, and my favorite gold (albeit costume) jewelry; packed an overnight bag and bee-lined my way down there.  And you know something?  I had fun!  Honestly, no one really knows if you’re there with anyone or not because; a-you are usually separated anyway and; b-they are too drunk to care.

I just wanted to dance and be out!  And out I was!  I didn’t care if I met anyone or not, that wasn’t the reason for my night.  Now I did happen to meet someone.  But; that is neither here nor there and besides, he’s not a local, so it doesn’t count.

The point is, again, I’m liking the woman that is emerging.  I would have NEVER done that.  NEVER in a million years!!!  Not unless I knew each and every bar tender and every bouncer (is that what they call them these days?).  Everyone of us should do it.  Don’t wait for the perfect time, or for all your pals.

At this particular club there is this woman, she is about 82 or older (I swear, she told me… just can’t remember the exact age… remember short term memory?).  But she gets dressed up in her cocktail dresses (just like the Real Housewives of the OC or NYC) in her Carrie Bradshaw/Sex and the City heels and dances whether by herself or with someone else.  (there are some decent young gentlemen who will ask her to dance out there)  It’s wonderful!  That’s what we need to do.  We need to dance as if nobody’s watching (isn’t that the saying?)  Do it!

3 thoughts on “Dancing Queen!

  1. I love it! And I’m so glad you did it! My friend Iona told me that there is nothing sexier than a woman entering a bar alone. It’s mysterious and independent. So keep dancing! And keep making those dates with yourself!

  2. hello there and thank you for your information – I’ve certainly picked up something new from right here. I did however expertise a few technical issues using this website, as I experienced to reload the website a lot of times previous to I could get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your web host is OK? Not that I am complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will often affect your placement in google and could damage your quality score if advertising and marketing with Adwords. Well I’m adding this RSS to my email and could look out for much more of your respective fascinating content. Ensure that you update this again soon..

    • Thanks for the ‘heads up’ I’m extremely new to this sort of thing and will take all the help I can. Am learning as I go and it is a wonderful journey. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

