Dipped my toes and now I’m ready to dive in… I think.

Blue water. The River Lonan cascading through ...

Image via Wikipedia

My best friend came into town and we had a blast.  When talking I realized how much I miss having someone around.  You know what I mean?  That special someone that you can just chat with about your day, people you meet or see.  I’ve so missed laughing with someone.  She and I found ourselves laughing until we cried (great times!).

So the question is, now what?  I think I’m ready to dive in, but should I wait a bit? Volunteer my time for a local charity perhaps.  Keep myself busy with a class.  I know that my sister could use my help right now.  And I know what you’re thinking, I’m running from possibilities.

No, I’m not.  I’m just trying to give myself the full extent of my time and explore all my options as well as reintroduce myself to Me.  I don’t know that hopping back into the dating pool is the actual answer to my lonesome-ness, but I do think I’m ready to open myself up to the possibility of meeting someone.  Just not necessarily on the internet sites (not just yet… still too creepy).

I do miss having those conversations though, and those flirtations.  Oh, and the sex!  Old B.O.B. (battery operated boyfriend) tends to grow old after a while… if you know what I mean.  (never said I was bashful…).

So, just what do I do about this situation?  I guess I do what I’ve been doing and that is to just take it one day at a time.  Continue to go inward to find my answers and to find my comfort.  After all, being alone isn’t the issue, being lonely is.  And I’m rarely lonely (if at all).  I think I’ll survive just fine.  I have dipped my toes in, I’m even ready to dive in; but I think I’ll sit, soak up the sun and get nice and hot so that the dunk will be that much more refreshing.  Yea…

2 thoughts on “Dipped my toes and now I’m ready to dive in… I think.

  1. I think that all we can do at any point when we feel like our life has headed in unexpected directions is just take things one step at a time, one day at a time, and sometimes even one minute at a time–while allowing ourselves to be open to possibility. Enjoy the relaxing pool and then continue to wade deeper when you are ready.

Leave a Reply

