Change, no matter what you say; I still hate it.

Townhouses in Chelsea; much of this Manhattan ...

Image via Wikipedia

I’m sitting here and watching my neighbor move out.  I never took the time to get to know him.  Though he seemed like a really nice person (just dropped off a bottle of wine he had and wasn’t going to drink… nice man).  Had Christmas lights up, always friendly when we passed; and now he’s gonna be gone.  I never knew him, so why do I feel so badly?

I’m kicking myself because I’ve done what we all do, I guess.  We watch each other, we pass each other on the sidewalk, say hello.  But we don’t get to know one another.  We get so wrapped up in our own lives (what’s left of it after working so many hours and all of our commitments) that we forget to take some time to take in those that are right outside our doors.

I’m watching the Walton’s (yes, I still watch that show… LOVE it!) and I’m reminded of a time that was much simpler.  It was much simpler but it really isn’t that much different than our current day.  I mean we are in an economic recession.  They call it a recession, but it’s a depression all the same as we are all struggling to make an honest dollar, and we need each other more than ever.

I just don’t think we can afford to close each other out the way we have for so many years.  I know that I’m gong to make it a point to reach out.  I’ve got some pretty nice neighbors and I want to make myself available to them.  I think we all should.  Whatever happened to having the neighbors watching the kids?  Or watching out for our house while we’re on vacation?  Whatever happened to cooking Christmas cookies and delivering them out to your neighbors?

No, we need to get back to ‘neighborhoods’ and reach out.  We need to get back to community, to reaching out and helping.  Instead of complaining about how the neighbor’s yard is overgrown, why not offer to mow the lawn?  Perhaps their lives have taken a turn for the worse?  We can never know anything until we walk a mile in their shoes.

Yes, that is my goal.  First I’ll need to keep my apartment presentable enough (not a bad idea, right?).  But, I wish to have more of an ‘open door’ policy when it comes to my neighbors.  Coffee around my kitchen table, dinner and yes, cookies.  Part of the ‘loneliness’ that I’ve been feeling can easily be healed if only I reach out.

Change, I still hate it.  But perhaps it will be more palatable if I know I’ve done something in the time I’ve had.

Leave a Reply

