Breathing; the natural medicine. Sometimes it is just what the Doctor ordered.

Enjoy Life Foods

Image via Wikipedia

Sometimes you just have to slow down and breathe (in: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, out: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6) and listen only to the sound of your heartbeat.  I’ve been a buzz of emotion these past few days (weeks/ months/year) and sometimes the best medicine is to just be still.

I realize how whiney I must have sounded to many of you and this has been emphasized by a phone call that I received recently from a friend who told me of an accident and how in the briefest of moments her friend was thrown from a motorcycle and into a coma and has yet to awaken.  It was on this same day that I was told by my ex that his sister had fallen from an 18′ ladder and that she herself is fighting for her life and is still in intensive care. 

My prayers go out to these people; all of them.  Those that are ailing; but most to their loved ones who must stand by and watch helplessly, wondering what’s next?  Where will this path lead?  Will they come out of this and if they do, then what?  Will they function? (so many questions.)

This truly puts a new light on my own troubles; for I have my health and, so far as I know as of today, I still have a roof over my head and money in the bank.  I still have my faculties and a family that loves me.  I’m not wanting for anything that I don’t already have and I love what I’ve got (not many can say that).

I’m still a bit shakey from the events of the past few months; however, I will survive and come through.  I read in the books by Esther and Jerry Hicks that life is to be enjoyed; we aren’t meant to be here to worry.  We make this life too difficult on ourselves, constantly fighting to paddle upstream and resisting that which is coming our way with ease (because we think it came too easy).

So, starting today I intend to do much more breathing and listening; bringing in my oars and allowing that which the Universe (or God) has in store for me to come to me (or me to it) and be grateful for this journey.

I don’t know what is in store for me, but I do know that everything I want; everything I need is already waiting for me.  I need only to breathe, relax and enjoy this wonderful thing called life.  And enjoy the view while I’m doing it.

Leave a Reply

