Love at First Site – True? Or False?

The other night I had an evening where I met the most incredible man I’ve had the pleasure of meeting in a LONG time.  So, my question to the readers out there is; is there such a thing as ‘Love at First Sight?’

I met this woman the other week (true, we’ve only been friends for a couple of weeks, but I feel as if we’ve been friends for a lifetime… strange).  Anyway, at the last-minute, she messaged that she was having some friends over and would I like to come for dinner; to which I replied, “sure!”  (free meal? Count me in!)

After receiving directions, the plan was we would have dinner then off to a club for some drinks, music and dancing (how delicious!).  I managed the directions and found myself at her place.  Knocked on the door and was greeted by my friend.  I felt a bit over dressed; but hey, I was going clubbing after all.  As I walked through to the kitchen/living area, I was greeted by her guests my eyes were immediately drawn to the most stunning figure of a man seated in the center of the couch.

The necessary introductions were made – I think I even held my hand to him first without even realizing I completely ignored the gentleman next to him… (How dimwitted of me and embarrassing now that I think of it) – I was just so mesmerized!  Then to meet his children and the gentleman next to him, turns out, was his father.  They were all the picture of perfection!  No other way of putting it; so cleansing just sitting in their presence.

I realize that there isn’t any hope of anything going anywhere and that possibly this is just a friendship… but the question still stands and it is at moments like this where I truly wish I had a crystal ball so I could see into the future…  Maybe it’s best not to be able to foresee our futures and simply glance at the scenery around us, breathing in the fragrances as we walk along our paths into our unknowns.

I don’t know what is in the cards, there is no telling (nor should there be); all I can be assured is that I am happy today and was happy in those moments of meeting such wonderful people.  That is what life is all about is it not?

In closing, I share a poem I’ve found that describes my feelings to a tee.  Again, I feel a bit foolish, but it does feel good to know I have these feelings again and to not be over rot by fear.

Choice

Angela Morgan

I’d rather have the thought of you
To hold against my heart,
My spirit to be taught of you
With west winds blowing,
Than all the warm caresses
Of another love’s bestowing,
Or all the glories of the world
In which you had no part.

I’d rather have the theme of you
To thread my nights and days,
I’d rather have the dream of you
With faint stars glowing,
I’d rather have the want of you,
The rich, elusive taunt of you
Forever and forever and forever unconfessed
Than claim the alien comfort
Of any other’s breast.

O lover! O my lover,
That this should come to me!
I’d rather have the hope of you,
Ah, Love, I’d rather grope for you
Within the great abyss
Than claim another’s kiss-
Alone I’d rather go my way
Throughout eternity.

8 thoughts on “Love at First Site – True? Or False?

  1. As usual, I love reading your writing. Renewing life & relationships and becoming open to the goodness that comes must be a wonderful feeling. you describe it well. It’s true that love makes the world go ’round. you deserve it as much as anyone I know. Continue to be open to love & joy and surely all things good will follow!!!

  2. First of all, I would like to thank you for including my blog as suggested reading. That was very kind of you and I truly appreciate your doing so!

    After reading your blog, I was quickly convinced that you should read my book, “Different Directions: How a Moment In Time Can Change One’s Life Forever.” What you have described is very similar to what the main character in my book experiences. She unexpectedly finds love out of the blue, a love that is completely inexplicable and very different than anything she has experienced before.

    Dana, had not been looking for love. In fact, she thought that she already knew love. Yet, there before her, in a single moment in time, a stranger claimed her heart. The odd thing was that he did not feel like a stranger to her at all. It was as though, even before sharing a single word, she somehow knew in her heart that she knew him and he knew her. It was a familiarity that seemed to have existed a lifetime. How could that be? They had never met prior! Could love at first sight actually exist?

    In an attempt to understand, she tries desperately to apply logic to this overwhelming feeling that “appears” to be love. A battle between her heart and mind ensues. Unable to explain how this love came to her, she decides to move on with the man whom she thought she knew true love with, only to find that the heart does not easily forget. Her path is long and many surprises await.

    Those who have read the pre-press copy of my book, have described it like “being on an emotional roller coaster with their best friend, and sharing life-long secrets.” Secrets of moral battles, pain, anguish and love that they had never been privy to. Others have said that after reading the book, they felt “hope” and had a renewed vision of love and the obstacles it can overcome. The words inside the pages will hopefully speak to the reader’s hearts and help them to accept love, and not to question how love came into their lives, but to instead enjoy each moment given with the one you love. And yes….a single moment in time can change one’s life forever.

    So, as you can see, my character, like you, probably wished that she had a crystal ball as well. If you would like to pre-order my novel, “Different Directions: How a Moment in Time Can Change One’s Life Forever,” you can log on to http://www.ivyhousebooks.com This will allow you to get your copy a few weeks before the actual release date of Aug. 28. Or, you can check out my website at http://www.donnaljones.net and follow the link to Ivy House from there or click to follow me on Facebook.

    Thank you again, and I will continue to follow you and your blog.

    Keep on Reading…Keep on Loving,
    Donna L. Jones

  3. Nora, this is such a beautiful poem. Thank you for the link to my poem and blog. It is highly appreciated. Do keep all your options open. And have fun. With time you will meet the right man. Shalom!

  4. I have not yet experienced it (perhaps I’m too cynical), but I do believe there is such ‘love at first sight’ occurrences. I am even more tickled when I hear their happily ever after stories–I mean talk about everything coming into perfect alignment for you to be there to share that moment.
    So here’s me tapping into the hopeless romantic in me, and wishing something grows out of that moment for you 🙂

    • Thank you! Not sure anything will or has… but rest assured I’m ready for just about anything to happen and finally glad to allow ‘love’ back in my life. Thanks for the well wishes!

Leave a Reply

