Pack Up All My Care and Woe… Here I Go… Singin’ Hello!

Moving day, when shall it be?  I know, I signed the lease, paid the deposit, first month rent; I even took out my renters policy and switched on my gas549799_4630910024197_789888604_n and electric (part of the terms of the lease), nuts huh?  But I wanted to get in on this special deal that they had going.  The apartment I got is a two bedroom, two bath for almost four hundred off market!  Yea!  I know!  Besides, it’s not like I don’t have the money, so I thought, “what do I have to lose?”  So I signed the lease and I went in for my walk through… all is marvelous!

Ah! I can’t wait!  This move and this apartment has  so much significance for me.  I’ve been the ‘care giver’ for over a decade and I find that I am finally moving into a place and am finally at a place in my life where I no longer have that ‘care giver’ requirement; I need only worry about myself (at least for this space in time).  I will forever be available to watch out for my sister Elizabeth, she is on her own and has no family.  My brother on the other hand, has a family and besides, his burden of alcoholism is his own.  He needs to take responsibility for his problems and straighten out his own life.  I can’t do that for him.  His children are grown, no need to ‘care’ for them.  They have their own lives and have made it abundantly clear that they don’t need us (Elizabeth and me).  Well, unless they need money… Ha!  That always seems to be the case, eh?  Kids today!

I’ve been looking into getting another dog (I know… too soon?).  It most likely is too soon and I am going to take my time.  I won’t get a dog until I’m sure I’m ready.  But I’ve got to tell you, I’m chomping’ at the bit already, so I’m pretty close.  But I’ll wait a bit longer.  I have been looking into different types of dogs; of course Westies are what I’ve always had, so will most likely stay with that breed (just love ’em!).

It’s an exciting time, many new prospects, so many possibilities.  One thing is for certain, I will be on my own for a while; it’s my choice… I’m looking forward to the solitude.  It will be nice to have the place to my own, to not have to worry about anyone else but me and my bird Frank (you remember Frank?).  Once again, I’ll be able to walk around in the nude, I’ll even be able to vacuüm in the nude should I ever be so inclined.  My apartment is on the end, next to open space.  So, picture it, I have neighbors on one side and nothing but trees and grass and hills on the other (it’s gorgeous!).

I’ve been thinking about this and how it just ‘fell’ into my lap, it’s almost as if the Universe gave it to me on a platter.  I looked at my Goal Poster the other day and this apartment was on it!  Oh, I wanted it in the brand new development in the center of town at $2,400/month with all the fixings, like a Gym, pool, Jacuzzi… (2 each and all new appliances and granite counter tops); but honestly?  I got such a better deal.  I’ve got more room, my 424573_4630919624437_1352187675_nsolitude, openness of the ‘green space’, the walking trail, a pool, most importantly?  I’ve got my life back!

It’s funny, this new place is near where my ex-husband and I lived for about 10 years of our marriage.  Now, that was a time when we were probably the happiest and I find that it is only fitting that I return to the area a happier, healthier me (a single me, but happier just the same…).  They say that we completely change (cells and all) every seven years.  So, I’m not the same person I was when I was twenty-four, or thirty-three, and it just stands to reason that I’m a completely different (new and improved) me now at fifty.

Yes, there is something very significant about this new apartment.  From the moment I looked at the pictures on-line, to the moment I first stepped in, I couldn’t shake the feeling that I was going to be here for some time  and  that we would become quite enchanted with each other.  Most importantly, I can’t shake the feeling that a great many life changing events will happen to me here and that this move will seal the  start of another phase of my life.  A new, wonderful one full of possibilities and opportunities.  Where dreams become reality and  friendships strengthen.  Something I’ve learned these last few years, life is far too short and friends (true friends) are hard to come by; so we must nurture those relationships like a gardener tends to her prized rose garden.  With consistency and care and love.

I’d like to introduce you to a dear old friend of mine that I’ve been in search of for so long; Ms. Ann MacGregor.  I lost you once, and don’t intend to lose you again.

5 thoughts on “Pack Up All My Care and Woe… Here I Go… Singin’ Hello!

  1. I’m sending you my wishes for much happiness in your new place.

    I know you’ve been through alot, but I’ll tell you something, most of us “50 some” think and feel some of your same thoughts!

    Kathy

    • Thank you for your encouraging words! It has been quite the journey (and it continues…); but one I treasure every turn and step. I will enjoy every delicious new day in my new phase of life (and my new place…).

  2. Pingback: My Homepage

Leave a Reply

