My Beloved Hour, ‘Til We Meet Again…

change-coming

Yes folks, it is that time AGAIN, where we must set our clocks ahead; thereby losing one hour.   Now to many of my friends, I’m  just being silly as this is made up later in the day, or is it?  Of course this observation comes from my dear friends the Larks.  You know the types?  Those individuals that greet you with a cheery “Hello!”, when you wake up in the morning, have already had their jog in, are showered and dressed and have been on Facebook chatting it up (to nobody) since 5:00 a.m.  While you, the Night Owl, who was probably up until 2:00 a.m. finally rolled out of bed by 9:00.

There has always been the ever blooming war between the “Larks” and the “Night Owls“.  I’m not sure if it is fair to really call it so much as a war necessarily, but the Larks do seem to feel superior to the Night Owl, in that they DO generally get up with the chickens, have tons of energy and seem to be able to get their ‘nose

to the grindstone’ that much earlier.  As opposed to the Night Owl, who generally gets their burst of energy around 4:00 p.m. and doesn’t quit until around two in the a.m.

The only issue with being a Night Owl is that it can pose a problem if you are in a 9-5 job, and your best work comes out around midnight.  So, the question becomes, can a Night Owl become a Lark?  I happen to be a Night Owl and know, that while I can put out some pretty good work between the hours of 9:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m; I do seem to get most of my best work done, like my writing, in the wee hours (it’s when I get all my ideas).  I can try to get to bed early, but an idea will pop into my head about an article and it’s back to the computer before it has time to slide back out.

Alarm+ClockAgain, I’m not sure that the term “war” would be accurate; however, having been married to a Lark, I don’t think it’s something marriages are made of.  Or should they be the perfect balance?  What I do know is that whenever this time of year comes around, I, for one, feel cheated.  I feel robbed.  And I don’t seem to feel ‘right with the world’ again until my beloved hour has been given back to me.  How many of you out there feel the same way?  It just throws us off somehow.  And is this something that just throws off the Night Owls?  Or are you Larks affected too?  Don’t get me wrong, I do appreciate the extra daylight at the end of the day too, but we would have had that anyway, am I right?  On the other hand, I really enjoy the evenings;  those lazy summer evenings with candle light, or some little lights strung around (it can be so celebratory and beautiful).  Hence, why I’m such a night owl, I love the evenings too much.  There is nothing like staring at a Full Moon on a clear still warm night while rocking in my favorite chair and sipping a glass of wine.

Now there are benefits to waking at the dawn and watching the sun come up.  I can remember when I ran an office in the City; I used to have to get up at 3:00 a.m.  Actually, now that I remember it, I didn’t have to, it was more out of fear; see that is where ‘work-aholism’ starts.  I would catch the first train at 4:30 and can remember how beautiful the sunrise was.  There have been other times too, where I’ve awoken early, gone to Starbucks and just sat watching the people (there are a lot of people up and around… who would’ve thunk?), or when I’m camping along the river… simply gorgeous!  It’s actually beautiful in the early a.m.

But, research has shown that we seem to be ‘hardwired’ at birth and that it is in our genetics.  They also say, why fight it?  Know your type and learn to live with it.  The issue is, we live in a 9-5 world and there are a great many Night Owls who have a hard time adjusting.  So is there a way for the Night Owl to transform into the early Lark?  Researchers say that they can, however they will never be totally themselves.  Again, GENETICS!  So, that my friends is it in a nutshell.

I’m a Night Owl and I’ll hoot with pride.  This post has helped, in that, I’ve found out some pretty interesting stuff.  But back to our shift in the time change, answer me this; for those of you our there, how does it affect you?  I’d love to hear from you.  Am I completely insane?  At any rate, I yam who I yam (to quote our favorite Popeye), and I will always have this thing about the “Spring forward” thing.

But we are back into the Spring of Summer, then it will be Fall, and THEN… my beloved Hour shall return and we will be together for a wonderful engagement.  A time where we will catch up on the lost time.  Until then… Happy Spring!

Lark Bunting

6 thoughts on “My Beloved Hour, ‘Til We Meet Again…

  1. Whether it’s spring forward or fall back, my main issue is having to adjust all the clocks in my life. It’s time-consuming (no pun intended!😉). Bedroom clock, bathroom clock, kitchen wall clock, microwave clock, oven #1 clock, oven #2 clock, mantle clock, grandfather clock, wristwatch, clock in jeep wrangler, clock in jeep overland! Phew! Thank goodness my computer clock, iPad clock, and iPhone clock do it automatically. See what i mean:)?!

    • I certainly do… It’s just exhausting, isn’t it? Makes me just CRAZY! But we do what we have to do and perhaps that is the great part of life is the little things… like the “fall back” in the Fall. At which time I shall be awaiting with a bottle of champagne to welcome it in… For that is my New Year. Happy Summer! And thank you for your comment!

  2. I am definitely a lark. I get up most week days at 5:30 so I can hit the gym and still get to the office while it’s quiet and empty. I can tell you that the time change kicks my butt too. You probably aren’t awake early enough to appreciate how much it sucks to find total darkness where there had been light. And, yes, I was exhausted this morning even though I got my same amount of sleep.

    As for the work tension between Owls and Larks, I can report from the other side that we don’t love waking up to a slew of emails that you sent while we were asleep. So much for what I THOUGHT I’d be doing today…

    • Fermata, thanks for your insight from the “other side”. And, ironically, I do know all too well where you are coming from; seems we all have our hurdles to cross… good luck with your day 🙂

  3. Did you notice you were nominated by me on my Versatile Blogger post for an award?
    I hope so! Thanks for giving us all lots of unique readings! Check out the list and your award! March 13th, I think….TGIF!!

    • My apologies for the delay, you were buried in my spam (?)… sorry about that. I’m so pleased! And humbled! Thank you for the nomination… it might take me a bit, as I’m swamped with all this “loss” business… however, I’ll get to it one way or another. Thank you again!

Leave a Reply

