The Only Thing Constant is Change…

The Changing Season - Township at Highlands

That is what they say, and you know something?  I hate it!  Of course there are some changes that are wonderful… the changing of the seasons, changing your shoes, changing your décor; but when people leave from your snuggly surroundings, this is a very sad day for me.  I was very blessed to be included in on a family dinner of my dear friend before she and her partner left the state.  She is and has been one of my truest friends for quite some time and, although they have lived elsewhere in these United States in the past and I survived, I just can’t help that I will mourn the idea that they will no longer be in the next town over.  I know, many will say, “But Ann, we are in the new age of technology… you can Skype, even call, you know?”  But I am going to miss hanging out, chatting it up and being silly, or going out and singing around the piano at one our favorite live piano bars in the City.  What fun we had.

It was around ’99 when we met, we both shared a love of singing and sang in an acapella quartet.  It was sheer amazement that we sounded as great as we did as we four laughed more than we sang; but sing we did and the blend was amazing.  The friendships that were formed from that quartet are treasures to this day. You know the kind?  Those friends you can just laugh and laugh and laugh with, until your sides ache.  Then it’s all you can do to not continue to laugh despite the aches.  (Something so therapeutic about it)  The other night at dinner was an occasion just like that.  We laughed until we ached.  And I watched as my friend spoke with her niece and I couldn’t help but to be reminded of a picture of another girl and her aunt (her favorite aunt).

When I was a girl, being the youngest I was a bit invisible (Ann who?  Do we have another sister/cousin?), but my aunt would talk with me and spend time with me.  She would tell me how proud she was of me, how pretty I was (even through my awkward “ugly duckling” years… whew!); bottom line, she encouraged me.  And the other night I saw this in my friend… No wonder I’m endeared to her; what is not to LOVE?  As we sat, laughing, chatting and giggling more and as I observed her listening with such intensity, I was watching Aunt Louise with me.  What a treasure.

FriendshipWe have a great many treasures in our life, friendships are the most valuable of those.  Family is obvious; but it is our friendships that we form through the years that pull us through the tough times, it is those friends that lift us up when we are down and listen with both ears wide open and without judgment.  So many quotes are out there about friends, close friends, best friends, childhood friends and so on; again, many will come and go, there are some that touch you for a brief moment in time and then there are those that stand the test of time.  It is my hope that ours will stand the test of time, but one can never know that without a crystal ball.  All I can do is treasure the contact I have with her today, this moment and be thankful for the light she has shed on my life and will continue to shed on my life and  the lives of all around her.

All the best dearest One…  You are embarking on yet another wonderful journey, remember that you are the rarest of gems that gleam light into the lives of all you encounter.  I love you and will always.

The Arrow and the Song

By

It fell to earth,
I  knew not where;
For, so swiftly it flew, the sight
Could not follow it in  its flight.
I breathed a song into the air,
It fell to earth,
I knew  not where;
For who has sight so keen and strong,
That it can follow the  flight of song?
Long, long afterward,
In an oak I found the arrow,  still unbroke;
And the song,
From beginning to end,
I found again in the heart of a friend.

Source: The Arrow and the Song by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, Famous Friendship Poems http://www.familyfriendpoems.com/famous/poem/the-arrow-and-the-song#ixzz2OakCb45A http://www.FamilyFriendPoems.com

2 thoughts on “The Only Thing Constant is Change…

  1. Can I just say what a relief to find a person who basically knows what theyre talking about on the internet. You definitely know how to bring an concern to light and make it vital. A lot more folks should read this and realize this side of the story. I cant think youre not far more favorite because you definitely have the gift.

    christian louboutin outlet

Leave a Reply

