Accomplished? Or Happy? How about both with a side of Joy?

Each year we have our holidays, we have our birthdays and we have our weekends (which means we have Word-Loveour Friday’s) to look forward to.  But every now and again we have those extra special days; you know the kind?  The ones where you do something extraordinary or you meet people who are extraordinary – and it just pops that day, or that event, over the top and you feel like you’re on top of the world.

Yesterday was just one of those days, as I met a woman, a  singer/songwriter extraordinaire who was out from the East to perform at the local theatre here in the Mountains; she is very well know throughout the world for her Folk music, so you can imagine my head was whirling.  I also had the privilege of meeting her friend, a published Poet/Novelist, who brought this wonderful singer/songwriter out for the Poet Society’s benefit the night before (and for this concert obviously).  Both women couldn’t have been more gracious or humble about their own talents and gifts; yet both of these women are highly accomplished.  Watching them though, I realized that it is very possible to live an ‘accomplished’ life and, though not a ‘famous’ one, it can be a happy one.

How marvelous is was for me to have that ‘ah ha’ moment; realizing that it is possible to follow your heart – as both of these women did – and carry out great feats; and, though not necessarily famous to the general public, they are accomplished and are very happy with their projects.  I won’t expect that they are happy each and every day, nor are they ecstatic about every project.  But I would venture to say that they are very excited by the creative process in their lives.  I would further venture to say that it is that creative process that is pulsing through their veins and keeps them going each day.

Sitting and listening as these women spoke of their lives and experiences, I soaked all that they had to say up.  It gave me the courage I needed to continue on this merry path I’ve embarked on.  Imagine doing what you love to do and getting paid for it!  That is the secret to a happy life – or so they say.  We shouldn’t wish our lives away; we should, instead, live each day, enjoying every moment as I did yesterday.  Can’t say so much about today; must have tried to sleep walk and bonked my head on the bunk-bed above me (I’m staying at my friend’s cabin/home…  AKA my home away from home).  Too dizzy to drive back today and warrants another night’s stay… Ah too bad!   But you get where I’m going, don’t you?  Cherish all that we do, finding joy in each step on this journey.

Anyway, it is my hope that my writings will be a bit more inspiring as I relay what I’ve learned.  And, hopefully, others can learn from my bloody knees (so to speak) and think to themselves “if she can do it…” because you can, you know?  We all have that hidden – or maybe not so hidden – talent within us; that little something that would give us great joy to do, even if we never get paid a dime.  I bet if you put your mind to it long enough and focused on the joy of it, the money would soon follow.

I’ve been following the books written by Ester and Jerry Hicks about the Laws of Attraction; much of what they write I practice on a daily basis and find that it’s working!  To give a glimpse, here is something to take with you:

“Life Will Always Be Working Out for Me. . .” Abraham – Hicks (Law of Attraction)

Think to yourself:” I like understanding that things are always evolving, and while there are many things that could be better where I am, it is not really a problem because ‘where I am’ is constantly changing to something better. I like knowing that as I look for the best things around me where I am, those things become more prevalent in my experience.

“It is fun to know that things are always working out for me, and as I watch for the evidence of that . . . I see more evidence of that every day.

“As you practice your more positive, better-feeling story, in time your pleasure will become the dominant vibration within you, and then as you couple your pleasure with your means of earning, the two will blend perfectly and enhance each other.

“There is no better way to earn money than to do the things that you love to do. Money can flow into your experience through endless avenues. It is not the choice of the craft that limits the money that flows—but only your attitude toward money. Abraham – Hicks the Laws of Attraction”

Bottom line; we look for those things we love to do and do them anyway, the earnings will follow – I know people, many of whom this works.  Don’t ask me how, in fact, they themselves would tell you the same, “don’t ask me how, it just does…”  Of course there is planning and work that must be done… But, my point is this (more for my own stubborn, thick headedness than anything) that our main reason for being is JOY.  When we focus on this, everything else falls into place.

Leave a Reply

