Friendships – Forever the Revolving Door

As I’ve said in past posts; friendships are funny, you never know about them.  They are here one day and gone the next.  ThePinkyswear forever revolving door.  But, with each friendship, there are lessons.  Lessons learned, lessons treasured and times treasured.  There can be heartache and there can definitely be tears, but if you are like me, these times are always a time for learning and a time of reflection.

I’ve had to accept the loss of a friendship, one that I thought I’d have forever; only to find that one from my past came back into my present and I couldn’t be happier.  It is this tide of in and out that is so fascinating to me and as this one friend came back into my life and we started talking as if no time had passed, I realized the beauty of the ‘friendship tide’ as it went in and out.

My one friendship I had been holding on to for so long.  And, try as I might, this person was slipping away from me and there was nothing I could do.  I came to realize that it was very possible that I valued our friendship far more than they valued it – or it could very well have been that this person just didn’t have the room in their heart or life for one more.  I was their past, I represented their mistakes and I represented their heart breaks and theirs secrets.  So, albeit subconsciously, they pushed me out and I finally gave in.  Will they be back?  I don’t know.  I never expected this other friend to be back… thought I had lost her forever; and am tickled to have her back.

The Universe is a strange and wonderful place, giving us what we seem to need at the very moment we need it.  But when we hold on and hold on to that which we are so afraid of letting go out of fear of losing it forever, that is the pain.  People come in and out of our lives and it is always for a reason.  This person that I’ve lost, I doubt it will be forever; but for now, it is needed.  For whatever reason, we have grown apart and I will love them unconditionally as long as I live.  There was a reason they were in my life and now it is time we move on…

To Everything There is a Season

By Ivy Schex

To everything there is a season
A time for every purpose under Heaven

A time to be born
and a time to die
A time to plant
and a time to pluck what is planted

A time to kill
and a time to heal
A time to break down
and a time to build up

A time to cast away stones
and a time to gather stones
A time to embrace
and a time to refrain from embracing

A time to gain
and a time to lose
A time to keep
and a time to cast away

A time to tear
and a time to sew
A time to keep silence
and a time to speak

A time of love
and a time of hate
A time of war
and a time of peace

At any rate, friendships, as with all relationships, go through seasons.  In fact, is it possible that we, individually, go through seasons?  That might be the truer sense of things.  It’s not that I’m ‘losing’ or ‘gaining’ anything.  It’s simply their individual ‘season’ has changed and we are no longer compatible.

Life is full of seasons, and as with the weather, they change constantly.  Some with the years, some by days; but, always ever-changing.  ‘Change’, remember?  I hated it?  Well, I’m learning to love it – or, at the very least, be ‘enliked’ to it.  Maybe I’m not ‘in-love’ with the idea, but I can at least learn to ‘go with the flow’ and bear it.  Because the only constant is change, that is the only guarantee in this life.  And if you can’t beat it – join it.

Leave a Reply

